Small B.R.A.S. web logoOutreach

Telescope line

One of the primary endeavors of the Baton Rouge Astronomical Society (B.R.A.S.) is community outreach. Specifically, helping to engage and educate our community about astronomy and the wonders of the cosmos via observing sessions through telescopes, physical science demos and media presentations.

B.R.A.S. would be happy to be a part of your event/activity and you can reach us with your request at:

outreach@brastro.org

When making a request, please include the following information:

  1. Date of the event
  2. Location of the event
  3. Start and End time of the event
  4. Estimated number of attendees
  5. Age range of attendees
  6. Indication of desired activity (Telescope Observing if nighttime, Solar Observing if daytime, physical science demos and/or presentation, etc.)

After submitting your request, you will receive a reply that includes any guidelines and rules that we have regarding our participation. If we are able to sign up volunteers, our participation is always FREE of charge. Keep in mind, the more advanced notice you give us, the better the chances are that we can get volunteers to participate in your event!

Telescope line

Here are the 2017 B.R.A.S. outreaches. More may be added later.

Tuesday, April 4th (7:00 pm to 9:00 pm)
Sidewalk Astronomy
Perkins Rowe Shopping Center

Thursday, April 6th (Secondary, if needed) (7:00 pm to 9:00 pm)
Sidewalk Astronomy
Perkins Rowe Shopping Center

Tuesday, 11 April (12:00 pm to 2:00 pm)
Pride-Chaneyville Library [YA]

Wednesday, 31 May (2:00 pm to 3:30 pm)
Baker Community Library [children’s]

Thursday, 1 June (2:00 pm to 3:30 pm)
Goodwood Library [children’s]

Monday, 5 June (2:00 pm to 3:30 pm)
Pride-Chaneyville Community Library [children’s]

Thursday, 8 June (2:00 pm to 3:30 pm)
Zachary Community Library [children’s]

Monday, 12 June (2:00 pm to 3:30 pm)
Greenwell Springs Regional Library [children’s]

Thursday, 15 June (2:00 pm to 3:30 pm)
River Center Community Library [children’s]

Monday, 19 June (2:00 pm to 3:30 pm)
Fairwood Community Library [children’s]

Thursday, 22 June (2:00 pm to 3:30 pm)
Jones Creek Regional Library [children’s]

Monday, 26 June (2:00 pm to 3:30 pm)
Central Community Library [children’s]

Thursday, 29 June (2:00 pm to 3:30 pm)
Delmont Gardens Community Library [children’s]

Monday, 3 July (2:00 pm to 3:30 pm)
Scotlandville Community Library [children’s]

Thursday, 6 July (2:00 pm to 3:30 pm)
Eden Park Community Library [children’s]

Monday, 10 July (2:00 pm to 3:30 pm)
Carver Community Library [children’s]

Thursday, 13 July (2:00 pm to 3:30 pm)
Bluebonnet Regional Library [children’s]

Telescope line

Previous page Back to B.R.A.S. home page Next page


Updated on Monday, April 3, 2017, 01:47 PM.